USAFA Library Guides: History of World War II: Articles

General Sources

EBSCOhost
Search across all Ebsco academic databases
Gale Resources
Search multiple Gale collections of journal and academic content
JSTOR
Find broad scholarly coverage in humanities and social sciences
ProQuest
Search various research and social science databases

Discovery Tools

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
Search across multiple databases to find journal articles and more
eJournal Publication Finder in EDS
See if library has access to a journal title in electronic format
Google Scholar
A discovery tool to find articles beyond USAFA

Journal Titles

Our research databases provide access to a wide selection of history journals, many with a focus on military history, such as the Journal of Military History, Military Affairs, Military History, and War in History.

The library also has bound print journals for historical research that are arranged alphabetically by title on the 4th floor. Some titles and issues are not available electronically.

Examples of bound journals include:

Air Force: Official Journal of the U.S. Army Air Forces (1942-1961)

History of the Second World War (v.1-6)

Military Review (1941-2014)

U.S. Air Services (1923-1956)

World War II (1986-2003)

Military History

Air University Index to Military Periodicals (AULIMP)
Article citations from military journals starting from 1987 to present
more...less...
Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center (formerly Air University Library) began indexing subject terms to military journals in 1949; these versions are in print and available at the McDermott Library. Pre-1987 indexes can be searched online from Haithi Trust. Look for links from this website.
America: History & Life with Full-Text (Ebsco)
Journal articles in the field of American and Canadian history
DTIC: Defense Technical Information Center
Historical documents, military research studies, technical reports
Historical Abstracts with Full-Text (Ebsco)
Journal articles in the field of world history from 1450 to present
JSTOR
Search collection of authoritative history journals
Military & Government Collection (Ebsco)
General and scholarly articles dealing with the military
Research Library: History (ProQuest)
Articles on US and world history, military history and much more

Specialized Bibliographies

Oxford Bibliographies: International Relations
Includes some quality resource guides related to WWII
more...less...
Bibliographies include:
Germany in World War II
Soviet Union in World War II
World War II Diplomacy and International Relations
Oxford Bibliographies: Military History
Resource guides on military history including WWII
more...less...
Bibliographies include:
World War II and the Far East
World War II in the Mediterranean and Middle East
World War II, Russo-German War
Also bibliographies on:
Aerial Bombardment
Britain and the Blitz
Campaigns in South West Pacific 1941-45
German Air Forces
German Army 1871-19456
Hiroshima/Nakazaki
The Imperial Japanese Army in the WWII Era
Kursk, Battle of
Midway, Battle of
Military Intelligence
Montgomery, Bernard Law
Nimitz, Chester
Occupations and Military Governments
Patton, George
Russian Military History
Sino-Japanese War 1895-1945
Stalingrad, Battle of
The Allied Bombardment of Occupied Europe during WWII
Zhukov, Georgii
US Holocaust Memorial Museum: Bibliographies
Guides to materials on various Holocaust-related topics

History of World War II: Articles

Introduction to Finding Articles

General Sources

Discovery Tools

Journal Titles

Military History

Specialized Bibliographies