Skip to main content

Information Services Desk: Tribune

"Unofficial" Library Newsletter

Welcome to the Service Desk Tribune.  The "Unofficial" newsletter of the Library.

Loading ...

Volume 1 Issue 1

Inside this issue:

  • Kanopy - Streaming videos
  • In The Spotlight with Meredith Moore featuring Frances Scott
  • Recipe - Amazing Peach Cobbler 

 

Volume 1, Issue 2

Inside this issue:

  • Cover:  New Years 2018
  • 2017 CSAF Reading List
  • Library Database:  IHS Janes
  • In The Spotlight with Meredith Moore - featuring Shane Spahr
  • GMAT Preparation

Volume 1 Issue 3

Inside this issue:

  • Cover:  Tuskegee Airmen
  • Black History Month
  • Library Database:  Internet Archive
  • 2018 NCLS
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - featuring Robert Cox
  • Catherine's Culture Column:  Mardi Gras

Volume 1 Issue 4

Inside this Issue:

  • Cover:  Women's History Month
  • Library Databases:  NoveList and Cambridge Core
  • Recognition 2018
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - featuring Ruth Kindreich
  • Catherine's Culture Column:  St. Patrick's Day

 

Volume 1 Issue 5

Inside this issue:

  • Cover:  Founder's Day
  • Library Database:  LitFinder
  • Yom Hoshoa
  • Book Review:  My Grandmother: An Armenian-Turkish Memoir by Fethiye Çentin
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - featuring Dr. Mary Elizabeth Ruwell
  • Shane's Healthy Workplace

Volume 1 Issue 6

Inside this issue:

  • Cover Story - Memorial Day/Asian-American Pacific Islander Month
  • Library Database: JSTOR
  • Book Review:  When the Emporer was Divine by Julie Otsuka
  • Remembering Military Dogs
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - featuring Kathy Kucharski
  • Catherine's Culture Column:  Cinco de Mayo

Volume 1 Issue 7

Inside this issue:

  • Cover Story:  Warrior Games
  • Library Database:  Europe World Plus and Learning Express
  • Book Review:  Sparta by Roxana Robinson
  • D-Day by Mr. Steve Maffeo
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - Featuring Dr. Charles Dusch
  • Shane's Healthy Workplace:  Tips for building strong relationships in the workplace
  • Catherine's Culture Column:  Greece

Volume 1 Issue 8

Inside this issue:

  • Cover:  Declaration of Independence
  • Library Database:  OCLC
  • Ernest Hemingway & USAFA by Dr. Bill Newmiller
  • Book Review:  In our Time by Constance Leonard
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - featuring  Dr. Charles Dusch, DAF Command Historian Part II
  • Shane's Healthy Workplace:  Allergies
  • Catherine's Culture Column:  Bastille Day

Volume 1 Issue 9

Inside this issue:

  • Cover Story:  USAFA Honor Code
  • McDermott Library's new ILS by Linda Tully
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - double feature
    • Dr. Lin Bothwell, USAFA Class of '64
    • Dr. Gary Mills, Chief, Writing Center
  • Leadership and Honor by Dr. Bothwell
  • USAFA Writing Center Eighteen Years of Excellence by Dr. Gary Mills
  • Book Review by Constance Leonard:  The Return: Fathers, sons, and the Land In-Between
  • Catherine's Culture Column:  End of Summer Festivals

 

Volume 1 Issue 10

Inside this issue:

  • Cover Story:  Constitution and U.S. Citizenship
  • Did You Know: Milestone Documents by Joe Barry 
  • The REAL Reason We're Here by Lt Col (Ret) Mark Ponti
  • Leadership with Lin by Dr. Lin Bothwell
  • Book Review by Constance Leonard:  Airman Down: The Capture and Escape from North Korea of a U.S. Air Force Pilot by Ward M. Millar
  • Colorado Historic Newspapers Collection by Charlotte Bonham
  • In the Spotlight with Meredith Moore - featuring HVAC Technician, Jimmy Larson
  • Catherine's Culture Column: Mexico's Independence and Germany's Octoberfest
  • Shane's Healthy Workplace:  Ergonomic Desks 
  • Hobbit Feet

Volume 1, Issue 11

Inside this issue:

  • Cover Story:  The Birth of the Navy by Steve Maffeo
  • AFA vs Navy - History
  • Leadership with Lin by Dr. Lin Bothwell
  • Polish-American Heritage Month: Casimir Pulaski
  • 60th Academy Assembly by Frances Scott
  • USAFA Accreditation by Charlotte V. Bonham
  • Book Review by Constance Leonard:  Xenophobe's Guide to the Poles
  • Catherine's Culture Column by Catherine Nary
  • Shane's Healthy Workplace by Shane Spahr
  • Meet the Press

We are all on the same page!


"The appearance of hyperlinks on this web site along with the views and opinions of authors, products or services contained therein does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Government, DoD, USAF, or USAFA. These sites are used solely for authorized activities and information that supports the organization's mission. The U.S. Air Force and the Air Force Academy do not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these link locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD Web Site."

U.S. Air Force Academy, USAFA, CO 80840, (719) 333-2590 DSN: 333-2590, Updated 8 Apr 2018
Privacy & Security Notice / External Link Disclaimer / Contact USAFA Webmaster / Accessibility Section 508/ FOIA