Skip to main content

Special Collections

World War I Materials in Clark Special Collections Branch

Special Collections Branch has a collections of material from the L'Escadrille Lafayette Flying Corps Association which represented World War I era American volunteers who flew with the French before America entered the war.  Several collections at the McDermott Library are donations from pilots and families of pilots who flew and served with the American Expeditionary Forces (AEF) when the United States officially joined the war in April 1947. These collections consist of memorabilia albums, personal letters, telegrams, and newspapers of the day. The Gimbel Collection contains many items from and about aviation during World War I and Clark Special Collections Branch also holds a copy of Colonel Gorrell's History of the A.E.F. Air Service 1917-1919 on microfilm rolls. 

IMAGE NOTE: Stereograph photos identified as "German reconnaissance aircraft, Albatros B.II (c. 1914), Flugzeugwerke Company" from the Gimbel Aeronautical Library stereograph collection.


"The appearance of hyperlinks on this web site along with the views and opinions of authors, products or services contained therein does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Government, DoD, USAF, or USAFA. These sites are used solely for authorized activities and information that supports the organization's mission. The U.S. Air Force and the Air Force Academy do not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these link locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD Web Site."

U.S. Air Force Academy, USAFA, CO 80840, (719) 333-2590 DSN: 333-2590, Updated 8 Apr 2018
Privacy & Security Notice / External Link Disclaimer / Contact USAFA Webmaster / Accessibility Section 508/ FOIA