Skip to main content

Special Collections

Colonel Richard Gimbel Aeronautical Collection (SMS 337)

Colonel Gimbel during a visit to the U. S. Air Force Academy with Colonel Fagan, the library director, standing behind himThe Gimbel Collection contains over 20,000 items tracing the history of human flight from Babylonian cuneiform seals to the Wright brothers aviation developments and beyond. Included in this collection are 5,000 year old seals carved from semi-precious stones, rare coins and medals commemorating great aviators and their achievements, manuscript materials, and thousands of published volumes from the late 15th century to the present day. The collection also contains more than 2,000 prints, portraits, engravings, etchings, woodcuts, lithographs, and photographs creating a unique pictorial history of flight. Additionally there are posters, dime novels, sheet music, children's toys and games, collector's cards, postcards, and postage stamps including first day covers. For more information, consult the links below.

IMAGE NOTE:  Photograph from Clark Special Collections Branch of Colonel Gimbel, seated, during a visit to the U.S. Air Force Academy. The Academy's library director, Lt Col (later Brig Gen) George Fagan, is standing behind him.

 

Related Materials


"The appearance of hyperlinks on this web site along with the views and opinions of authors, products or services contained therein does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Government, DoD, USAF, or USAFA. These sites are used solely for authorized activities and information that supports the organization's mission. The U.S. Air Force and the Air Force Academy do not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these link locations. Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD Web Site."

U.S. Air Force Academy, USAFA, CO 80840, (719) 333-2590 DSN: 333-2590, Updated 8 Apr 2018
Privacy & Security Notice / External Link Disclaimer / Contact USAFA Webmaster / Accessibility Section 508/ FOIA