USAFA Library Guides: Biology: Articles

Biology Database

This list of databases focuses on life sciences including biomedical and health sciences. It is alphabetized.

Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database for environmental studies and related disciplines
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more
MEDLINE Complete This link opens in a new window
Journal citations and abstracts for biomedical literature from around the world.

PubMed
PubMed is a service of the US National Library of Medicine (NLM). PubMed is a free resource where you can search MEDLINE, an index of life sciences and biomedical journals, and additional life science journals and books.

Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers a broad range of rehabilitation and sports medicine topics including orthopedics, physiology, nutrition, sports exercise, physical therapy and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is an authoritative, multidisciplinary database covering more than 15,000 journals. It is a good choice for most any science topic. It also provides cited and citing reference tracking.

Science Databases

This list databases that cover all of the basic science disciplines. These are good places to explore a science topic.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is an authoritative, multidisciplinary database covering more than 15,000 journals. It is a good choice for most any science topic. It also provides cited and citing reference tracking.
ScienceDirect Complete Freedom Collection This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect has extensive coverage in science, engineering and medicine. It also contains many core journals in business, social sciences and humanities. Full-text access to journal content from 1995 to present.
SciTech Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary content collection of scholarly material in the natural sciences, technology, engineering related disciplines. Includes scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications, and more.

General Databases

This is a list of general databases and search engines. This is a good place to start when first exploring your research topic. It can help you narrow down your topic before going into discipline specific databases.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collections of mostly full-text academic journals, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, government reports, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that crawls the internet for scholarly literature including articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Online Journals

Already know the specific journal you want to access? Search or browse our online journal collection.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
All BioMed Central research articles can be browsed, downloaded and viewed without registering, but if you wish to search the BioMed Central site, you do need to register. There is no charge for registering.

Annual Reviews
Review articles in the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences, including Economics and Political Science
Browse All Online Journals