USAFA Library Guides: Chemistry: Properties

Chemical & Physical Data Sources

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
A chemical database where you can look up organic and inorganic compounds, including polymers, food, and drugs, to see their molecular structure.

NIST Physical Reference Data Portal
Includes atomic, molecular, nuclear, and elemental data.
NIST Chemistry WebBook
Search by chemical or property.
MatWeb Material Property Data
Includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers, metals, ceramics, semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing references, properties, and spectra for over 28 million structures from hundreds of data sources.
Wolfram|Alpha
A computational knowledge engine. Search for "properties of [material]" for information.
ChemIDplus
From the National Library of Medicine, records consist of name, synonyms, CAS number, molecular formula, properties, and direct links to biomedical resources.

CHEMnetBASE This link opens in a new window
A chemical database where you can look up organic and inorganic compounds, including polymers, food, and drugs, to see their molecular structure.

These resources help you find more sources for harder-to-find properties.

Chemical and Physical Properties Resources
Covers natural and man-made material properties, including boiling points,melting points, dipole movements, etc. Other resources include spectroscopy and crystallization, as well as tables of physical constants.
ThermoDex
ThermoDex contains ~300 annotated bibliographic records that describe printed (hardcopy) compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances.