Clark Special Collections

CLICK HERE TO ACCESS THE COLLECTION FINDING AID

Virginia “Ginny” Caine Tonneson was one of the first six women appointed to the United States Air Force Academy, which she attended from 1976 to 1980. A Commandant’s, and Superintendent’s lists. In 1997, she was part of the relay team that holds the distinction of becoming the first USAFA All-Americans. As captain of the swim team, she was named All-American three additional times and received the inaugural Outstanding Achievement Award at graduation.

After graduation she served as a joint specialty intelligence officer from 1980-2000. While stationed at USAFA as an Air Officer Commanding (AOC) and Deputy Group AOC, she won the O’Malley Award (outstanding AOC) and the 34th Training Group Officer of the Year Award. In addition, her squadron won the Superintendent’s Award as the top military/academic squadron. After retirement, she became the Association of Graduates (AOG) Stewardship Director and Director of Class Giving. She earned her Ph.D. in Educational Policy, Planning, and Leadership from the College of William and Mary, and has authored/co-authored two books. She served as a USAFA Parents’ Club president, USAFA Admissions Liaison Officer, Falcon Heritage Forum speaker, and as the 1980 CS-25 representative. She also served as the AOG Board of Directors Secretary and was a member of the Single CEO Selection Task Force. A more extensive autobiographical sketch of Ginny Caine Tonneson can be found at the beginning of the collection in Box 1.

Caine Tonneson’s father, Brigadier General Philip D. Caine, served in various roles at the Academy during his long and distinguished career including as a permanent professor in the Department of History and as the Deputy Commandant for Military Instruction. He anticipated the historical significance of his daughter’s acceptance into the first class of women cadets and recommended that she keep everything of note, which was the impetus for this collection. Her parents were local, and because USAFA was reported heavily in the Colorado Springs press they were able to save newspaper and magazine articles that were unavailable to cadets. These articles are also included in the collection. Ginny Caine Tonneson donated these materials to Clark Special Collections, through the Friends of the Air Force Academy Library, in May 2023.

The Ginny Cain Collection (MS 32) provides insight into what it was like to be in the first class of women cadets at United States Air Force Academy, as well as the entire cadet experience from pre-candidate through graduation. This collection was assembled and meticulously cataloged by the donor, Ginny Caine Tonneson, and item descriptions were provided by her. It consists of ten boxes divided into fifteen series, outlined below. Uniforms were also included in the original donation, which are under the care and supervision of the Academy’s History Department and are not listed here. See Special Collections Staff for more information. Examples of the types of materials in the collection, as noted by donor, include:

• Press articles related to women coming to USAFA and their performance throughout
• Editorials & cartoons (e.g., lewd inspections, cupid, general officers’ view on the success of USAFA in integrating women)
• USAFA female-related documents (e.g., “A New Opportunity for Women-Addendum to the 1975-76 USAFA Catalog,” “Guide for Women Students and High School Counselors,” AH booklet: “Instructional Booklet on Sex Differences in Response to Physical Activity,” letter on female physical training)
• ’80 females specific documents (e.g., initial male and female issue items for BCT, Officer’s Wives Club reception, ATO dinner, listing of assignments)
• Official correspondence (e.g., letters from senators, 5 Jan 1976 congratulations letter from Commandant on appointment; congratulations from superintendent on swimming)
• Personal correspondence (e.g., letters from squadron-mates, retired officers, general officers)
• Talon & Dodo magazines with significant female items annotated (e.g., Colorado Hip Disease cartoon, “Talon Girl” in each issue, Dodo “spacemate”)
• Doolie knowledge (e.g., knowledge test study guide with 242 questions; Contrails and squadron/group/wing staff study notecards)
• Photos of key events (e.g., BCT Valley Sweepstakes, Hell Week, Recognition, T-41, marching tours)
• Typical cadet documents (e.g., pay statements, orders, SAMI results)
• Historic USAFA Events (e.g., Bicentennial, 25th USAFA anniversary, Russian Flu)
• Certificates (e.g., T-41, Team Captain, All-American)
• Compilation documents (e.g., USAFA Office of Institutional Research study on performance of women, 20th Anniversary “Women in Motion”)
• Personal reflections (e.g., 50th anniversary oral history interview, responses to questions from various organizations and individuals)
• Training information for Air Training Officers and Air Officers