USAFA Library Guides: History 300S Leonard: Finding Sources

Articles and eBooks

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world from 1450 to the present, excluding North America
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic reference and citation database for literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present and full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

ProQuest This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, government reports, and newspapers in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary collections of mostly full-text academic journals, periodicals, reports, books and videos.
Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The definitive scholarly business database in all disciplines of business, marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. It offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business.
Morality and Science: Global Origins of Modern Bioethics, 1957-1995 This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and reports covering ethics and the life sciences during the second half of the 20th century
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The world's largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of the worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, APA PsycInfo is unmatched as a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
A definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Access more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources from LexisNexis including industry and company data

American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 1500 periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines as well as many other historically-significant periodicals.
British Library Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Regional and local newspapers published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries.

History Commons This link opens in a new window
Formerly Accessible Archives. Diverse primary source materials, primarily from 1800-1939, reflecting diverse perspectives from American history and culture as found in leading books and periodicals of the times.
Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new window
A collection that explores and provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas - includes images, borders, maps.
Gale Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
New content added for Fall 2024: Decolonization: Politics and Independence in Former Colonial and Commonwealth Territories. Search across multiple Gale primary source products through one interface. It combines historical archives covering hundreds of years of history and various resources such as monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and photographs.
History Vault (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Primary source materials from a wide variety of archival collections for research in US history, international relations, and military conflicts
Readex AllSearch: Your Gateway to Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
Use interface to search all of the following library-owned Readex primary source databases: African History and Culture imprints and African-American historical newspapers. Primary sources include books, pamphlets, newspapers, government documents, and more.

FBI Records: The Vault
Declassified information from the FBI.
US National Archives
The US National Archives, including photos and other documents.
UK National Archives
Archive Grid
Searches across physical and digital collections in 1,400 archival institutions. Add " has_links:1" to your search to limit to digital collections. For example: 1918 influenza has_links:1