Services

What Can I Borrow?

Cadets, faculty, and staff may borrow items available for circulation from McDermott Library in person by using their library barcode, which is available for pickup at the Information Services Desk.  In online, patrons may place items on hold and pickup later or renew checked out items using their username and password.  NOTE:  Different collections have different loan rules. You may also borrow from libraries in the region or worldwide if you do not find the title you are seeking in the catalog.

General Collection Non-Fiction Titles:

• Cadets and Staff: 2-week loan, with up to 3 renewals
• Faculty: Semester-long loan

General Collection Fiction Titles, Government Documents, Playaways, and CDs:

• All Groups: 2-week loan, with up to 3 renewals

DVDs:

• All Groups: 1-week loan, with no renewals. Instructors who need items for a course should inquiry about an extension.

Bound Periodicals:

• Cadets & Faculty: Overnight loan

Other military personnel and civilians may be authorized to borrow items upon approval of written application by the Director of the McDermott Library. 

Place a Hold and Pickup Later

McDermott Library borrowers can place a hold to have circulating items from the library pulled from the shelf and held for them to pick up at the Information Services Desk. You will receive an email notification when the item is available for pickup.

If an item is currently checked out, the item will be placed on hold at the Information Services Desk once it is returned. If there are other holds already placed on the item, you will be added to the queue in the order the holds were placed. You will receive an email notification when the item is available for pickup.

To Place a Hold, you need your username and password.  If you don't have this information, please visit the Information Services Desk or contact the library through email/chat for assistance.  If you know your username, but not your password, follow these directions to change your password.

If the username and password are known, on the library homepage in Quick Links, open "My Library Account".

Placing a Hold

1. Login to your library account.
2. Search the library catalog.
3. Click the "Reserve Item" button to the left of the book information. 
4. If the hold is successful, a confirmation message will appear.
   

Renew Items You Have Checked Out

Cadets, faculty, and staff are able to view the items currently checked out to them and renew them.  Most items renew for an additional 2 weeks and can be renewed online or in person.

To Renew Items, you'll need your username and password.  If you don't have this information, please visit the Information Services Desk or contact the library through email/chat for assistance.  If you know your username, but not your password, follow these directions to change your password.

If the username and password are known, on the library homepage in Quick Links, open "My Library Account"

Renew Items

1. Login to your library account.
2. Under "My Account," go to "My Borrowing" then "Loan."
3. To renew all items in the account, check Select All and click the "Renew All" button.
4. To renew specific titles on the list, check the titles and then click the "Renew" button.
5. If the renewal is successful, the Due Date is extended for 2 weeks.
6. If a message stating that the item cannot be renewed shows, then either you have exceeded the renewal limit, or another patron has placed a Hold on the item.
7. Contact the library and we can assist if the limit is reached, however, if another patron placed a Hold on the item, the item must be returned to the library by the Due Date.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) - How to request any item from libraries worldwide

What is an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) Request? 

An Interlibrary Loan request allows you to obtain library materials from other libraries worldwide which are not available at McDermott Library. Use our online request form to let us know what you need and we will find a library that can provide it.

What can I Request?

PDF scans of journal articles, book chapters, and news publications can be requested in accordance with copyright law. Books, government documents, theses, music, and some videos may be borrowed, depending on availability. Requests for rare publications, if available, may be designated "In Library Use Only" and can be viewed at the Information Services Desk. Click on Requesting Items for access instructions.

Prospector - Faster borrowing through regional libraries (6 weeks / NO RENEWAL)

What is Prospector?

Prospector is a shared catalog of academic, public, and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming providing access to over 30 million books and other materials, subject to availability.

Why would I use Prospector?

Borrowing through Prospector is generally the quickest way to obtain print materials not available at McDermott Library. Books borrowed through Prospector can arrive within 3 to 5 days, and Prospector provides expanded access to request electronic chapters of eBooks and streaming films. Items in Prospector may be borrowed for 6 weeks only so if you need it for longer please use the Interlibrary Loan form and specify your requirements. 

How do I search Prospector?

Users can search the Prospector Union Catalog just as you would our catalog. Click on Requesting Items for access instructions.

McDermott Library collections are developed through librarian selection, donations, and recommendations. USAFA faculty, staff, and cadets are welcome to suggest new additions to the collection through our Collection Recommendation form.

Recommendations are reviewed by the Library Collection Committee on a number of criteria, including but not limited to:

• Curricular relevance
• Access options
• Licensing terms
• Purchasing compliance

A librarian will follow-up with requestors within two weeks on access, alternatives, and other issues which may arise.