Clark Archives and Special Collections offers a look into the rich history of Black cadets at the United States Air Force Academy, distinguished Black pilots and officers of the Air Force, and oral histories that get at the heart of their experience. Everything featured on this page is available for research and use by request from the Archives and Special Collections staff.
This is a representation of the records available for research from Clark Archives and Special Collections. Please explore our website or contact an Archivist for further research inquiries.
William LaMont "T" Thompson (born June 14, 1951) was the President and CEO of the United States Air Force Academy’s Association of Graduates from 2008 to 2017. A native of Orangeburg, South Carolina, he was one of the first African American students to desegregate the previously all-white Orangeburg High School in 1965. He became the first African American from South Carolina to receive an appointment to the U.S. Air Force Academy in 1969. As a cadet, Thompson participated in a number of activities aimed at improving racial understanding among his fellow students and colleagues at the Academy, including his key role in organizing the Festival of Black Culture held at the Academy campus in January 1972. The Festival was the first event of its kind ever held at a US Service Academy. He was on the Commandant’s list, attained the rank of Cadet Lt. Colonel, and served as a member of the Cadet Wing Staff. In addition to his significant social and academic accomplishments, Thompson excelled in both track and field and football in high school and played the receiver position for the Air Force Falcons football team.
Official Air Force photograph of William L. Thompson, SMS 1569 William Thompson.
Alan Michael Osur (1941-2021) was born in Paterson, N.J., and earned degrees from Rutgers University, the University of Connecticut, the University of Denver, and Regis University. He was on active duty in the United States Air Force from 1963-1984 and was a Reconnaissance Intelligence Officer in the Vietnam War. He retired as a Major and became an expert on race relations in the military. He wrote several books and articles on the subject, and he taught history and coached rugby at the U.S. Air Force Academy for many years. Osur was also a member of local historical societies in Colorado Springs, and an honorary member of the Tuskegee Airmen. He was an avid tennis player, a prolific reader, writer, and traveler, an amateur archeologist, and a collector of Civil War bullets. He donated his collection of books and research materials to the Academy in 2006.
(1) Booklet, "The Tuskegee Experiment and Tuskegee Airmen, 1939-1949", SMS 970 Alan Osur.
(2) Book, "Black Americans in Defense of Our Nation", SMS 970 Alan Osur.
The SMS 35 Ray Bunting collection contains information on Black fighter pilots between 1942-1945. This rich collection contains a rare bound and captioned photographic album detailing the involvement of Black pilots in World War II. Many of these photographs were published for the first time to the public by photographer Ray Bunting.
This collection was donated by Ray Bunting on February 1, 1968 to the United States Air Force Academy Clark Special Collections.
The R. L. Fulton collection contains information concerning the 99th Squadron and the Tuskegee Airmen Flying School in Alabama. This exemplary collection consists of a single captioned photograph booklet dated February 1941, that highlights the Tuskegee Army Flying School in Tuskegee, Alabama. The booklet pictures personnel, grounds, school activities, and cadets.
This collection was donated by Col. Robert L. Fulton on 3 August 1960 to the United States Air Force Academy Clark Special Collections.
