USAFA Library Guides: History of American Culture in the 1960s and 1970s: Historical Newspapers

Introduction

The library provides access to many historical newspaper collections, most which are available with full-page and article images in downloadable PDF format. Articles from historical newspapers are primary sources if the content is original or a first-hand account of an event. A newspaper article written by someone who did not witness or respond to a current event is typically not a primary source.

Search any one of these newspaper collections to learn more about a topic or how an event was covered by local, national and international news sources.

Newspaper Collections

African American Newspapers, 1827-1998
Newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience including the civil rights movement and more
Associated Press Collections Online
Access news reporting on the key issues, individuals, and events in the history and politics of the US and abroad. Collections include: U.S. City Bureau Collections cover a broad segment of American political and social history, including civil rights movements and other events in the sixties and seventies; Washington D.C. Bureau Collection (1939-2009) of records document the Kennedy, Johnson and Nixon administrations.
New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Provides full-text of the New York Times from 1851 to 2017
Nexis Uni
Local, national and international newspapers. Some newspapers date back to the 1970s but coverage is mostly current.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2014 (Gale)
International coverage from The Times, a British daily published in London
Washington Post (ProQuest)
Access articles full-text from 1877 to 2007