Find Literary Resources - English 211 - Lopez - USAFA Library Guides at USAFA McDermott Library

Focus On: MLA International Bibliography

From the Modern Language Association (MLA), this resource is the definitive index for the study of language, literature, linguistics, rhetoric, writing studies, folklore, film, theater, and other dramatic arts. It includes scholarly books, articles, journals, conference papers, and dissertations.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals & series, as well as book publishers

Tips for Searching MLA

Remove subset topics that aren't relevant using the NOT operator: e.g., autism NOT (class* or language) to remove results on teaching
Click the "Get Full Text" button to search for the full-text of a resource in all McDermott Library subscriptions. If we don't subscribe, you will get a link to request the item via Interlibrary Loan

More Literary Resources

Disability Studies Quarterly Disability Studies Quarterly (DSQ) is the journal of the Society for Disability Studies (SDS). It is a multidisciplinary and international journal of interest to social scientists, scholars in the humanities and arts, disability rights advocates, and others concerned with the issues of people with disabilities
Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies Focusing on representations of disability, JLCDS publishes a wide variety of textual analyses that are informed by disability theory and, by extension, experiences of disability. It is an essential disability studies journal for scholars whose work concentrates on the portrayal of disability.

Literature Online (LION) This link opens in a new window Full-text collection of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window Biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on nearly 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world

Books

Search Books at McDermott Library
Insignia is the McDermott Library catalog, so it lists all of the physical items available in the library, from books to DVDs and more.

ProQuest Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
With coverage across all academic disciplines ProQuest eBook Central offers a critical mass of more than 150,000 foundational scholarly ebooks.

Tips for Book Searching

Use an asterick to search for multiple endings, e.g., autis* searches for autism OR autistic and neurodiver* searches for neurodivergent OR neurodivergency OR neurodiverse OR neurodiversity etc.
If you find a title of interest, look at the Subjects for links to more resources on that topic or new search terms to try

Full Text Beyond McDermott Library

Found a book or article that you really want to read but we don't have full text access? We can get it!

For books and DVDs, the first place check beyond McDermott Library sources is Prospector. This consortium of libraries across Colorado and Wyoming is generally the quickest way to obtain print materials not available at McDermott Library as the Colorado Library Courier typically delivers items in 3 to 5 business days.

Need an article or item not available in Prospector? Interlibrary Loan can get what you need! Use our online request form to let us know what items you need. Articles normally take 2-3 business days while books can take 7-10 business days.

Interlibrary Loan Requests