USAFA Library Guides: Languages and Cultures: Home

Key Language Learning Resources at USAFA

Mango Languages: Teaches real conversations, key grammar points and cultural awareness. Includes all USAFA taught languages plus many other offerings! Adobe Flash Player required to view Mango Premiere films.

Click the Sign Up button to create your profile
Log In with your email/username and password
Download mobile apps for access from Apple, Android or Kindle Fire devices.

OverDrive from DoD MWR LIbraries: Offers a wide variety of audiobooks for foreign language study, plus e-books, comics, and popular magazines from different countries, many available in a foreign language. Click on "Sign In"; and then enter your information. If you need assistance, please refer to DoD MWR Libraries' "How Do I...?" tab or contact them on their homepage.

Oxford Language Dictionaries: Bilingual dictionaries for Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish. Search for meanings and hear pronunciations.

Key Multidisciplinary Databases

Gale Resources
Find resources for literature, history and related topics
EBSCOhost
Search for articles and books from across academic disciplines
JSTOR
Find articles & books on area studies, language, literature, and more
ProQuest
Access books and journals on different subjects

Cultural Information and Country Profiles

Air Force Culture and Language Center
Language and cultural learning programs and resources
Europa World Plus
Country focus on current issues, history & more
FAMiliarization (DLI)
Countries in perspective and cultural orientations
Global Road Warrior
Country-by-country resource for learning about culture, history, language, travel, and more
The World Factbook (CIA)
Up-to-date information on countries across the globe

News

ABYZ News Links
Media sites worldwide
Nexis Uni
US and world news sources
PressReader [AF Portal]
Digital access to English and foreign language news sources

more... less...

Use your CAC to Log In to the AF Portal. From the Library & Resources tab at top, select Databases & Online Resources and scroll down for Language & Culture Resources
US Major Dailies
From 1980s to present

more... less...

Coverage of local, regional, and world events from 5 major US newspapers:
Chicago Tribune, 1985-
Los Angeles Times, 1985-
New York Times, 1980-
Wall Street Journal, 1984-
Washington Post, 1987-
Wall Street Journal
Activation and sign in

more... less...

Use this guide to activate your account, and to sign in for access to The WSJ

News Magazine

Foreign Affairs Online
more... less...

Foreign Affairs focuses on American foreign policy, security and global affairs. Read current issue or browse the entire archive for journal articles dating from 1922
Foreign Policy & FP Insider
more... less...

Premium subscription access to all Foreign Policy content including every print magazine, report and news article, plus FP Insider Access to power maps, special reports, and conference calls
National Geographic Virtual Library
Current and past issues

more... less...

Featuring access to the National Geographic magazine archive from 1888 to present, and articles from National Geographic Traveler and National Geographic History magazines

Need help?

Perri Moreno

she/her

Email Me

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, English, Fine Arts, History, Languages & Cultures, Mathematical Sciences, Philosophy, Physics & Meteorology

Streaming Video

Kanopy
From the main page, select "Log In to USAFA" and enter your Library Username and Password to access Kanopy's collection of films and documentaries, many related to global studies and/or in a foreign language
PBS Videos
To access PBS, you must "Sign In" with the email and password provided on the Streaming Videos section of the Remote User Access Guide in USAFA Blackboard under the Library Resources tab. Follow the instructions in the guide for access to popular PBS shows.

more... less...

USAFA Blackboard:
https://usafa.blackboard.com/

DoD Language Resources

DLI eLearning Resources
Language learning resources

more... less...

Basic Skills: Language & Culture
Advanced Skills: Enhancement & Sustainment
Assessment: Language & Cultural Proficiency
Deployment: Language & Culture Downrange
GLOSS
Language lessons from DLI

more... less...

Provides written and audio materials for many languages
Headstart2
DLI Headstart programs
The Joint Language University
Register for CL-150 access

more... less...

Use your mil/gov email address to access a variety of language learning materials and products including Transparent Language (CL-150)

Other Learning Resources

ielanguages.com
Free lessons and resources for learning languages

Pronunciation Guides

Forvo
Hear pronounced words and find useful phrases for languages
Voice of America
Search or browse by region for pronunciation of words and names

Languages and Cultures

Foreign Languages Guide

Related Guides and Links

Foreign Language Study