IMAGE, SOUND and VIDEO: MEDIA RESOURCES

Remember to click the appropriate radio button on the left side to sort for permissions appropriate to your project.

NASA content - images, audio, video, and computer files used in the rendition of 3-dimensional models, such as texture maps and polygon data in any format - generally are not copyrighted. You may use this material for educational or informational purposes, including photo collections, textbooks, public exhibits, computer graphical simulations and Internet Web pages. This general permission extends to personal Web pages.
News outlets, schools, and text-book authors may use NASA content without needing explicit permission. NASA content used in a factual manner that does not imply endorsement may be used without needing explicit permission. NASA should be acknowledged as the source of the material. NASA occasionally uses copyrighted material by permission on its website. Those images will be marked copyright with the name of the copyright holder. NASA's use does not convey any rights to others to use the same material. Those wishing to use copyrighted material must contact the copyright holder directly.

OSTI is committed and empowered to provide public access to DOE-sponsored scientific and technical information. However, public access does not connote that the materials on this or other DOE websites are in the public domain. When accessing OSTI websites, you may encounter documents, illustrations, photographs, or other information resources that are protected by U.S. or foreign copyright laws. OSTI provides access to such content under the authority of the government's retained license to distribute publications and data resulting from federal funding. Although you may legally access such works via OSTI, the copyright owners retain rights that govern the reproduction, redistribution, and re-use of copyrighted works. You are solely responsible for complying with applicable copyright law restrictions, including seeking the permission of the copyright owners when your intended activities fall outside the limited uses provided for by fair use and other legal principles.

Many documents and other materials available via OSTI are marked with a copyright notice or other statement designed to inform the reader or user of applicable restrictions (or lack thereof). For example, documents labeled "U.S. Government Work" or similar are not copyrightable under U.S. law, and therefore may be freely copied and redistributed. Other works, such as journal articles or conference proceedings, clearly indicate the copyright holder, year copyrighted, and so forth. Finally, some OSTI materials may lack an explicit copyright statement; if so, you should treat these works as if they are protected by copyright.

USGS-authored or produced data and information are considered to be in the U.S. public domain. While the content of most USGS Web pages is in the U.S. public domain, not all information, illustrations, or photographs on our site are. Some non USGS photographs, images, and/or graphics that appear on USGS Web sites are used by the USGS with permission from the copyright holder. These materials are generally marked as being copyrighted.

Due to copyright restrictions, some of the items in these collections can only be accessed in the Main Branch at Copley Square. Samples (30 second clips) of these items can be listened to remotely. If you wish to listen to these items in their entirety, they may be accessed at the Library. The collections currently available online are listed in the drop down menu below. Select a collection, a creator from the list or search through the collection by using the keyword search box.

Some songs may have licenses attached and ccMixter claims they are clearly marked.

Remember to click the appropriate radio button on the left side to sort for permissions appropriate to your project.

Please see Terms of Use for complete information on copyright.

Whenever possible, we provide information that we have about copyright owners and related matters in the catalog records, finding aids and other texts that accompany collections. However, the information we have may not be accurate or complete. As a publicly supported institution, we generally do not own the rights to materials in our collections. You should determine for yourself whether or not an item is protected by copyright or in the public domain, and then satisfy any copyright or use restrictions when publishing or distributing materials from our collections. Transmission or reproduction of protected items beyond what is allowed by fair use or other exemptions requires written permission from the copyright holder.

USGS-authored or produced data and information are considered to be in the U.S. public domain. While the content of most USGS Web pages is in the U.S. public domain, not all information, illustrations, or photographs on our site are. Some non USGS photographs, images, and/or graphics that appear on USGS Web sites are used by the USGS with permission from the copyright holder. These materials are generally marked as being copyrighted.