USAFA Library Guides: Fine Arts: Finding Books

Book Finding Sources

USAFA Library System
Search our library holdings by keywords, author, title and subject terms
WorldCat (OCLC)
Find out what's available in other library systems in the US and around the world
Prospector
Search other Colorado academic library systems plus the University of Wyoming

Cambridge Core: Cambridge University Press
Search for book titles in different subjects including art, music, film and media
more...less...
Select "Only search content I have access to" and enter your term(s). You may narrow search search results by Content Type (articles, books, etc.).
Ebsco eBook Collection
Thousands of electronic books in all subjects including the arts, architecture, biographies and more
JSTOR
Access thousands of scholarly e-books (plus open access titles) in the arts, humanities and beyond
OverDrive Digital Media
DoD MWR Libraries provides access to OverDrive where you can download popular eBooks and eAudiobooks on art, music, the performing arts and more. Click on "Sign In"; and then enter your information.
more...less...
For assistance, please refer to DoD MWR Libraries' "How Do I...?" tab or contact them on their homepage.
ProQuest Ebook Central
Electronic books available in all subject areas including the arts
SAGE Knowledge
Access SAGE Books and Reference collections including works in Media, Communication & Cultural Studies
University Press Scholarship Online (UPSO) + Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)
Find works on different subjects including music from leading university presses published since 2018
more...less...
USAFA provides access to additional works in OSO published by Oxford University Press prior to 2012 in four subject areas: Economics, Philosophy, Political Science and Religion

Getty Publications Virtual Library
View free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archive
HathiTrust Digital Library
A freely available collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world
Internet Archive
Offers free access to millions of assorted collections in print, audio and digital formats
Project Gutenberg
Offers more than 50,000 free eBooks including ePub and kindle books that can be downloaded or read online
more...less...
Find the world's great literature here, especially older works for which copyright has expired

American Doctoral Dissertations
Indexes theses and dissertations from US universities since 1902 and provides links to full text, if available
DART Europe E-theses Portal
Provides researchers with a single portal from Europe for access to European research theses
EThOS: e-theses online service
Search for UK doctoral theses, an open access service from the British Library
Open Access Theses and Dissertations
Free access to graduate theses and dissertations published from over 1,000 institutions around the world

JSTOR
Find scholarly reviews
more...less...
Advanced Search, Narrow by Item Type = Reviews
Ebsco Discovery Service
Reviewed book titles
more...less...
From the Reviewed Book Title field, enter book title and search. From the left side of screen, narrow results under the Source Types by Reviews (if available)

Books and Authors (Gale)
Learn more about books, authors, genres and topics including fine arts, performing arts and more
more...less...
Browse for books, authors, genres, topics, expert picks and award winners. Select drop-down "Who? What? When? Where?" to search for a character, subject, location, time period, or any combination thereof.
NoveList Plus (Ebsco)
Available on the AF Portal
more...less...
Helps readers discover books they want to read -- fiction, non-fiction and different adult genres including the arts and entertainment