USAFA Library Guides: Behavioral Sciences &amp; Leadership: Getting Started

Welcome!

This guide provides information on a broad range of topics in behavioral sciences and resources to help you do research. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or need help with your research.

If you are having trouble getting started, try reading a few articles from the listed sources. Look for major concepts and words or phrases that are repeated in the article, as well as references cited that can help you spot credible sources for your topic.

Concepts of Behavioral Sciences

A selective list of resources for students to learn about concepts and theories in behavioral sciences:

APA Dictionary of Psychology
Search authoritative source for psychology terms and meanings
Glossary of Research Terms in Social Sciences
Help in understanding of commonly used terms & concepts
Key Concepts in Sociology
Defines each concept with insight and diverse perspectives
Online Sociology Dictionary

Getting Started with a Topic

Here are some resources to help you pick a topic and get started with your research in behavioral science and related disciplines:

APA Psychology Topics
Explore topics in psychology that impact everyday life situations
Association for Psychological Science (APS)
Delve into research topics on subjects of popular interest
Behavioral Scientist
Find reports on current topics affecting human behavior
CQ Researcher
Find reports on social issues (human rights, family relations, social movements, etc) with statistics, charts, graphs, and maps
Harvard Business Review
Website provides information on popular topics about leadership, behavioral science, organizational culture, and more
Harvard Business Review (in Ebsco)
Magazine articles full-text in Ebsco, 1992-present
MedlinePlus
Information on all kinds of health-related topics such as mental illness, plus resources on drugs, genetics & medical tests
Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan fact tank presents a wide range of research topics on gender, race, religion, relationships, and much more
Psychology Today
Select "Today" from main menu to find trending and other topics. Full-text access to magazine articles via library databases.
ThoughtCo: Social Sciences
Uncover human behavior within psychology, sociology & ergonomics

Explore Your Career & Research Interests

Building Your Career in Psychology
Featuring the best practices in facilitating career decision-making and planning, this book is a must read for undergraduate and graduate students in psychology courses.
The Psychology Major′s Handbook
Practical information for students to succeed throughout their college journey with guidance on how to write term papers and APA-Style empirical reports, plus ways to improve your study habits.

ScienceDirect Topics
Explore new topics in your field of research or area of study in psychology, social sciences, neuroscience & ergonomics. Some items have summaries without access to the entire text.
Very Well Mind: Major Branches of Psychology
Explore 18 different fields of psychology you can study

Research Guides

Survey scholarly research in the behavioral and social sciences:

Oxford Bibliographies: Psychology
Find research guides with annotated bibliographies on different areas and topics in the field of psychology
Oxford Bibliographies: Management
Includes coverage of organizational behavior, cross-cultural management, human services management, and more
A Research Guide to Psychology: Print & Electronic Sources
Presents print & electronic resources with an analytical approach

More Resources for Learning

BrainFacts: Ask an Expert
Get insights on topics concerning brain related disorders
Global Road Warrior
For a better understanding of world cultures and societies
Mental Health A-Z
Learn more about various mental health conditions
Monitor on Psychology
Special reports by the American Psychological Association
Neurological Disorders
Health information on all neurological disorders from NIH
Psychology: 50 Essential Ideas
Introduction to the world of psychology and a number of key ideas
Social Psychology Network
Identifies resources for psychological research and education
What is Ergonomics (HFE)?
Brief overview by the International Ergonomics Association
What is Mental Health?
Learn about mental health conditions, signs & symptoms
World Health Organization
Overviews on a variety of world health topics & socio-political issues

Behavioral Sciences & Leadership

Research Librarian

Digital Subscriptions