USAFA Library Guides: Behavioral Sciences &amp; Leadership: Writing and Citing

APA Style

Citing your sources correctly is an important part of the research process, ensuring your sources receive proper credit also helps prevent plagiarism. For help citing sources, resources are listed below. If you have questions about citations, please check with your instructor. For extra help, visit the Writing Center or make Online Appointment. You may also contact a Librarian (Ask Us) for basic help.

APA Style Homepage
Official website provides some citation and reference examples
APA Style and Grammar Guidelines
For paper formatting, in-text citations, and mechanics of style
APA Style Reference Examples
Common reference examples based on category types

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. 7th Edition
Call Number: Ready Ref BF 76.7 .P83 2020
Official APA reference and citation system with guidance on choosing headings, tables & figures.
Copies on short loan at the service desk.
Concise Guide to APA Style. 7th edition.
Call Number: Ready Ref BF 76.7 .C66
ISBN: 9781433832734
Publication Date: 2020
The official APA style guide for students. Copy on short loan at the service desk.

ASA Style

The APA Style by the American Sociological Association is the authoritative reference source for writing and citing papers on sociology. Although based on The Chicago Manual of Style author-date system of citation, always consult the ASA Style Guide as it may differ slightly.

ASA Style and Formatting from Purdue OWL
Formatting and in-text citations help from Purdue University
Quick Tips for ASA Style
Produced by the American Sociological Association

ASA Style Guide. 6th Edition
Call Number: Ready Ref HM 569 .A54 2019
The standard reference for professional writing in sociology from the American Sociological Association.
Copy on short loan at the service desk.

The Chicago Manual of Style
ASA Style normally follows Chicago Manual of Style (author-date)

MLA Style

MLA Style is commonly used for course assignments at USAFA. Check with your instructor before selecting a citation style.

MLA Handbook Plus
Library provides unlimited full-text access to the latest handbook with all citation examples and writing prose
MLA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue OWL
General overview with citation examples from various sources

MLA Handbook. 9th Edition
Call Number: Ready Ref LB 2369 .G53 2021
Newest edition for documenting sources using a template of core elements--author, title & publication date.
Copies on short loan available at the service desk.

Zotero

Zotero is a free, easy-to-use citation management tool that helps you to collect, manage, cite, and share your research sources. Being famiiar with the basic format structure of a particular style like Chicago is important to ensure consistent results when making a final bibliography in Zotero.

Zotero Setup
Instructions to set up your own Zotero account and information on adding, organizing, sharing and citing your sources
Zotero Tutorials
Select from a list of video tutorials to learn how to use Zotero

Other Citation Management Tools

EasyBib
Free account for saving citations in MLA only
Endnote Web
Free version for Endnote Basic. Also available through the library's subscription to Web of Science.
Web of Science
Click on Products from right corner of top main page to get the free basic version of Endnotes. Also free: Endnote Click to get PDFs.

Writing and Research Publications

The Craft of Research
Explains how to do research, find and evaluate sources, and make and write your argument.
Key Research & Study Skills for Psychology
Provides students with helpful research and study skills that will help improve essay writing and exam taking in psychology.
Writing in Sociology
Guidance for undergraduate students doing sociological writing from developing ideas into research questions, utilizing research literature, constructing research papers, and completing different kinds of course writing.
Writing Your Psychology Research Paper
A primer for undergraduates explains how to write a clear, compelling, well-organized research paper published by the American Psychological Association.

University Writing Guides

Writer's Handbook
Help starting a research paper, including structuring of the writing process by creating an argument and developing a thesis statement (Univ of Wisconsin-Madison)
Writing in Psychology
Produced by Purdue OWL for experimental report writing
Writing Your Research Papers
Explains different aspects of the research process: annotating a bibliography, performing a literature review, and writing a thesis statement (San Jose State Univ)