USAFA Library Guides: Economics: Case Studies

Case Studies

What is a Case Study?

Case studies describe real world scenarios that often involve a challenging business situation with practical examples, questions, and possible solutions. The case method can help students gain insight on a particular topic and develop their critical thinking skills for class projects and building problem solving with real-life incidents. Sources for case studies include databases, websites and streaming services. Many case studies are found in scholarly journal articles.

Featured Database Resource

SAGE Business Cases
Browse subjects for unlimited access to leading cases from countries worldwide for business, economics & finance

Sample Cases in Business & Economics:

Library Databases with Cases

Tips for Finding Case Studies:

Enter the search words "Case Study" or "Case Studies" along with the keywords describing your topic.
Select "Case Study" under Document Type in Advanced Search, or filter the Document Type after a Basic Search.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Offers a diverse collection of scholarly research with case studies. After a basic search, filter "Case Study" as a Document Type
Business Source Complete
Broad business research database contains thousands of case studies from diverse sources. In Advanced Search, select "Case Study" as a Document Type.
EconLit with Full Text
Use search terms to find case studies: case study AND (company or industry name). Or by topic e.g. case study AND natural resources
ScienceDirect Complete Freedom Collection
Search for case studies from a vast collection of scientific, medical and social science journals. Most articles full-text, 1995-present.

Open Access Sources

Case Centre
Explore free, top quality case collections. Registration required.
Center for Advanced Hindsite
Access case studies on money related topics under research
Development Asia
Case studies (and more) focused on Asia and Pacific region
MIT Management Sloan School
Access case studies by category, e.g. finance and sustainability
World Business Council for Sustainable Development
Under "Refine Your Search", select content type for the latest case studies on business sustainability and the environment

Learning Resources for Students

The Case Study Handbook, Revised Edition : A Student's Guide
An introduction for analyzing, discussing and writing about cases with examples and study guides. Unlimited user access in Ebsco.

The Case Method Knowledge Centre
Provides a range of resources to learn about the case method
How to Write a Business Case
Australian university guide with tips, resources and examples

Journals with Cases

Business Case Journal
Available in Ebsco, 2006-present. Includes cases where student are asked to think of good points relevant to the situational context.
Journal of Business Cases and Applications
Open access journal with articles of applied business cases
Journal of Case Study
Available in Ebsco, 2011-present
Journal of Critical Incidents
Available in Ebsco, 2009-present
Journal of the International Academy for Case Studies
Available in ProQuest, 2004-present

Newspapers with Cases

Financial Times
An excellent source for case studies. Articles available full-text in ProQuest, 1996-present (1-month delay).
Nexis Uni
Search for "case studies" in newspaper collection. A major component of the Nexis Uni database is business news.

Streaming Video

Case Method at Harvard Business School
A series of YouTube videos for insights and perspectives on the case method of study at Harvard University
Kanopy
Browse the “Business” section and click on Business Case Studies to find a selection of streaming videos that examine business practices, finance, manufacturing, and more