USAFA Library Guides: Economics: Getting Started

Welcome!

This guide provides information on a broad range of topics in economics and resources to help you do research. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or need help with your research -- just drop by my office, email me, or we can chat online.

If you are having trouble getting started, try reading a few articles from the listed sources. Look for major concepts and words or phrases that are repeated in the article, as well as references cited that can help you spot credible sources for your topic.

Getting Started with a Topic

Here are some resources where you can find a topic on economics and related research areas:

AEA Research Highlights
American Economic Association presents a wide range of economic topics with news, featured charts and research highlights
CQ Researcher
Browse database for reports on business & economics, international trade & development with statistics, charts and graphs
Pew Research Center
Nonpartisan fact tank presents a wide choice of research topics on the economy and work related issues
Stanford Business
Provides insights on topics such as big data, economics, finance, innovation, and political economy
ThoughtCo: Economics
Articles that clearly explain micro and macroeconomics topics
The World Bank
Uncover facts and figures on international development topics: e.g. debt, financial inclusion, macroeconomics, trade

Harvard Business Review

Offers a choice of topics in economics, finance, business and related fields. Select topics from main menu. See also Ascend & Magazine for advice and featured articles. Magazine articles full-text in Ebsco.

Harvard Business Review
Website spotlights current economic and related topics
Harvard Business Review (in Ebsco)
Get articles full-text in Ebsco Business Source, 1992-present
Harvard Business Review Press Collection
Access to the complete collection of ebooks from HBR Press

Bibliographies and Literature Reviews

Survey research in the social sciences:

Annual Reviews
In-depth reviews on research topics in economics, financial economics, resource economics, statistics, and more
Journal of Economic Literature (AEA website)
Find survey & review articles with annotated listing of new books
Journal of Economic Literature (in Ebsco)
Option to AEA website with full-text coverage, 1969-present
Oxford Bibliographies
Annotated bibliographies that identify quality sources for subjects on management, political science, area studies, and more

Country Overviews & Economic Systems

Europa World Plus
Details on countries and regions with tool for comparative economic statistics, and facts on international organizations
Global Road Warrior
For a better understanding of world cultures
IMF Country Information
Country financial information at a glance
The World Factbook (CIA)
Updated intelligence and economic data by country

More Resources for Learning

Academic Influence
Learn about the discipline of business & economics and beyond
The Behavioral Economics Guide
Annual edition of behavioral economics and behavioral insights
Changing Economics
A window into the world of economics from Harvard University
Discover Economics
Economics help for students by the Royal Economic Society
Economics Help
Essays for understanding economics in the UK & global economy
Guide to the Economy
Explore the economy with financal news & resources at Investopedia
The Journalist's Resource
Tip sheets and explainers to help journalists (and students) understand academic research methods in economics and more
National Agricultural Library
Topics on economics, business & trade plus food security
Occupational Outlook Handbook for Economists
Learn about career opportunities and job prospects
Our Economy
What's going on with the economy from a British perspective
The Power Atlas
Insight into seven key focus areas of world power: economics, technology, climate, people, military, health and culture
Resources for Students by the AEA
To learn more about the study of economics
Resources for the Future
Topics on environmental and climate change economics

Concepts of Economics

Open access resources to help students learn economic concepts:

The A-Z of Economics
Understand key economic terms from The Economist
The Economy by the CORE Team
Thematic units with nifty resources for insight into economics
Encyclopedia of Economic & Business History
Prepared by the Economic History Association
Finance Dictionary A-Z
For understanding finance & economic terms by WallStreetMojo
Glossary of Global Business & Economics
Principles of Economics 3e
Introductory text explains key terms and concepts with examples

Online Reference Books

These references offer a great way to get an overview of topics in different areas of study in economics before conducting more in-depth research. Suggested sources may be included to help with further research.

General Reference:

21st Century Economics: A Reference Handbook
A non-technical resource to help students understand a broad range of economic issues and methods including emerging economic subfields.
Routledge Dictionary of Economics
One of the most authoritative dictionaries in economics with clearly explained A to Z entries that define key terms followed by a short bibliography.

Basic Research Methods:

A Beginner's Guide to Economic Research and Presentation
Provides a specific approach to conducting research, writing a paper, and presenting the material.

Conflict and Defense Economics:

Principles of Conflict Economics: The Political Economy of War, Terrorism, Genocide, and Peace
Presents current perspectives on conflict and peace in novel ways and offers new insights into economic aspects of war, including elements of game theory.
The US Defense Economy
This handbook provides an overview of the defense economy. Access to "Elements in Defence Economics" series in Cambridge Core for related titles and content.

Econometrics:

A Concise Introduction to Econometrics: An Intuitive Guide
A guide to help students learn the essential concepts of econometrics, get started on an empirical project, and may augment any standard introductory textbook.
Guide to Economic Indicators
Provides quick and easy access to reliable data on the major statistical measures and macroeconomic indicators of the US economy.

Economic History and Development:

Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
Provides historical framework how world trade shaped human relations and civilizations since ancient times.
Routledge Handbook of Major Events in Economic History
Introduces important macroeconomic events of the past 200 years by explaining the economics driving these historical events.

International Economics and Finance:

A Guide to International Economics
A concise and rigorous approach to the understanding of international trade and finance without relying on mathematical models or graphs.
Handbook of Key Global Financial Markets, Institutions & Infrastructure
International perspectives, survey of key markets, institutions & global financial framework.

More Specialized References:

Handbook of Economics and Ethics
Offers context on the relationship between ethics and economics
An Introduction to Non-Traditional Security Studies
Overview of non-traditional security concepts: economic security, food security, health security, and more
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Economics & Society
Understand economics through modern, societal issues
The SAGE Handbook of Sports Economics
Solid contribution to the understanding of sport in the economy
The SAGE Handbook of the Digital Media Economy
a multidisciplinary overview of contemporary scholarship relating to the intersection of the digital economy and the media, cultural, and creative industries.

Economics

Research Librarian

Digital Subscriptions