USAFA Library Guides: Government Documents: Judiciary

Recommended Resources: Judicial Branch

ProQuest Congressional Publications
Contains Congressional Research Digital Collection [Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports and Committee Prints]; U.S. Serial Set & Serial Set Maps; Indexing for Hearings, Reports, Documents, and Committee Prints
more...less...
Includes: Legislative Histories, Bills & Laws, Vote Report, Committee Prints & Misc. Publications, Congressional Record Daily Edition, Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports, Hearings, House & Senate Documents/Reports, Serial Set & Serial Set Maps--
Date ranges available
**If you locate only citations in this database, try searching HathiTrust & Internet Archive Digital Libraries for the full text--for 2000 to the present, try GovInfo.gov or Congress.gov
HeinOnline
HeinOnline provides full text access to thousands of law and law related journals and government publications.
more...less...
Collections include: Law Journal Library; U.S. Code; U.S. Statutes at Large; U.S. Federal Agency Documents, Decisions, and Appeals; and the U.S. Supreme Court Library.
Comprehensive User's Guide: http://heinonline.org/HeinDocs/HOLUserGuide.pdf
Nexis Uni
Access more than 15,000 news, legal and business sources including industry and company data
more...less...
This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard’s Citations service for all federal and states court cases back to 1789.
Supreme Court of the United States
Transcripts, audio recordings, briefs, docket search, and opinions available for the Court.
U.S. Courts
Provides public access to opinions from selected United States courts
more...less...
Access includes appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts. The content of this collection dates back to April 2004.
United States Law Guide
Law guide prepared by the Library of Congress includes: United States Code, U.S. Statutes at Large, and Public Laws
United States Reports searchable through the Library of Congress
More than 225 years of Supreme Court decisions, 35,000 decisions acquired by the Library of Congress are now publicly available online

Additional Resources

Court Opinions
(via Findlaw) - 1893+

Supreme Court of the United States Blog

"SCOTUSblog is devoted to comprehensively covering the U.S. Supreme Court without bias and according to the highest journalistic and legal ethical standards." (Sponsored by Bloomberg Law)

How the Supreme Court Works

Search McDermott Library and Beyond

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) This link opens in a new window
Government Publishing Office index to official government publications in all formats. Many items in the catalog have links to full text online versions.

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS)
Search McDermott Library's Discovery Service for books articles, and more
Search Prospector
Search other Colorado academic library systems plus the University of Wyoming.

Quick Search

Try searching Google, typing your keyword(s) with site:gov in Google’s search box. You can narrow the search to a certain department or agency, for example: space system site:gao.gov will narrow your results to documents from the Government Accountability Office (GAO) and site:ntrs.nasa.gov will search the NASA technical reports server.

You can also limit your searches to other domains such as .mil and .edu ; refine results by date; or search for a specific type of file results. As an example, entering file:.pdf will only return PDF results: aircraft fatigue site:ntrs.nasa.gov filetype:pdf

Google Advanced Search
You can also use the Google Advanced Search form to walk you through your options

Government Documents