USAFA Library Guides: Linguistics and World Language Teaching: Home

Introduction

Welcome! This guide identifies resources at the McDermott Library that are relevant for teaching world languages and the study of second language acquisition in higher education. It is intended to provide support for teaching and faculty research in the Department of Languages and Cultures at the US Air Force Academy.

If you need further help with using this guide or your area of research is not covered by the resources featured, please contact me. Any suggestions to help improve or enhance this guide will be appreciated!

Quick Links

Databases, A-Z
Select from an alphabetical listing of all library databases
Interlibrary Loans (ILL)
Submit request a request for an article, book chapter, book or other resource not available from USAFA
Languages and Cultures Subject Guide
Identifies resources for language learning in all foreign languages taught at USAFA
Library Website
Search library's online catalog to find print and other resources
US Air Force Portal
Access a variety of electronic resources: databases, books, audiobooks, streaming videos and more
more...less...
From the Library & Resources tab, select Online Resources for list of resources
WorldCat (OCLC)
Search for holdings in different US and world library systems including USAFA book holdings

Other Research Tools

Biblat - Bibliografía Latinoamericana
Bibliographic references from scientific and academic journals published in Latin America and the Caribbean
more...less...
Access to databases: CLASE, PERIÓDICA and SciELO-Mexico
Compiled and maintained by: la Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM)
Bibliographie der Deutschen Sprach- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
BDSL is an International Bibliography of German Literature and Literary Studies
more...less...
Compiled by the Department of Linguistics at the University Library Frankfurt/Main
Choice Reviews
Find reviews of academic books and digital resources of interest to scholars & students in higher education
more...less...
Filter by Reference titles, Humanities subjects including language & literature, Social & Behavioral Sciences subjects including education and area studies, Interdisciplinary Subject, Readership Level and more
ICPSR
Search data archive for research in the social and behavioral sciences including teaching & learning
more...less...
International consortium of more than 700 institutions, also known as the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research located at the University of Michigan
OED Online: Oxford English Dictionary
Authoritative English language dictionary - includes Historical Thesaurus, Timelines and other research tools
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Chinese Studies
Find annotated bibliographies on different topics related to China including the Chinese language
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies
Annotated bibliographies from interdisciplinary fields of study to include Arabic language and literature
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Latin American Studies
Annotated bibliographies in diverse academic fields of the study of Latin America including languages
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Psychology
Annotated bibliographies on the broad scientific study of behavior with an increasing emphasis on culture
Oxford Dictionaries
Bilingual dictionaries: Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Portuguese, Russian and Spanish

Need help?

Perri Moreno

Subjects: English, Fine Arts, History, Languages & Cultures, Philosophy

Streaming Video

Hoopla Digital
Popular movies and documentaries, including foreign language films, from Hoopla on the AF Portal
more...less...
From the Library & Resources tab, select Online Resources for list of resources
After you create account, you can login from:
https://www.hoopladigital.com/my/hoopla
Kanopy
Films and documentaries in the arts, education, travel, global studies and languages
PBS Videos
To access PBS, you must "Sign In" with the email and password provided on the Streaming Videos section of the Remote User Access Guide in USAFA Blackboard under the Library Resources tab. Follow the instructions in the guide for access to all PBS video content from the website link including Frontline, Great Performances, Nova, Nature and many other popular shows.
more...less...
USAFA Blackboard: https://usafa.blackboard.com/