Welcome to your essential guide to U.S. Special Operations Command (USSOCOM or SOCOM).
This page provides a comprehensive overview of SOCOM’s mission, organizational structure, strategic role, and affiliated research institutions within the U.S. Department of Defense.
Use this guide to explore:
SOCOM’s structure and global reach
Key documents, including posture statements and strategy papers
Scholarly and government research
Books, journals, and specialized databases
Trusted websites and keyword strategies for deeper research
About US Special Operations Command: SOCOM is one of eleven Unified Combatant Commands—and one of only four with a functional, rather than geographic, mission. Headquartered at MacDill Air Force Base, Florida, it oversees all special operations forces (SOF) across the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Marine Corps. Its missions span counterterrorism, unconventional warfare, cyber operations, and strategic competition.
Key Topics: SOCOM Mission and Vision | Core Activities | SOF Truths | Posture Statement
đź”—Component Commands
đź”—Subordinate, Unified Command
đź”—SOCOM Army Reserve Element
TSOCs are sub-unified commands aligned under each Geographic Combatant Command (GCC), responsible for planning and executing regional SOF missions. Each is typically led by a general officer.
Joint Special Operations University (JSOU)Premier academic institution for special operations education and research.
Command Library | JSOU Press Publications | Forum
đź”—Overviews & Official Reports
đź”—Research Databases & Resources
Enter your search terms and click Search to find an e-book:
Use the Library Online Catalog to search for printed book titles, which may also be available electronically.
Security Studies on JSTOR is an excellent resource to find research reports from different policy institutes in the field of security studies. Keyword is the default search in JSTOR with the option to refine results by publication year, content type and subject. Advanced Search allows more precise searching.
Below are some reports from this collection:
A variety of quality, open access reports are also available from government and private research organizations. Important sources include:
Below is a selected list of reports from different research and government institutions:
Enter a journal title to check full-text availability and coverage in all library collections:
Selected journal articles for deeper analysis and exploration
Journals to Explore
Use this list to keyword list to refine your searches in databases.
|
|
|
|
