USAFA Library Guides: Geosciences: Books, Maps & Videos

Find Books from Electronic Collections

EBSCO eBook Collection
Access a variety of e-books in all subjects including the social sciences
JSTOR
Search or browse by subject to find books in geography, geology, environmental science and other areas of study
Praeger Security International
Find books on geopolitical and security related issues
ProQuest Ebook Central
Vast ebook collection from all subject areas including geography, social science, environmental studies, geology and much more
SAGE Knowledge
Access reference sources on geography, earth & environmental science, plus more social science disciplines

Find Books from Library Catalog

Use the catalog system to find printed books and media at the McDermott Library. Search by keyword, title, author, or use the advanced search to find items by subject or a combination of terms.

Prospector
Search library systems in Colorado and the University of Wyoming
WorldCat (OCLC)
Search library systems in the US and around the world

Resources for New Book Information:

Geography Book Release Podcasts
Listen to hosted events of new book releases relating to geography, as well as other subject areas, from New Books Network
New Books for Geographers
Association of American Geographers seasonal recommendations

Call Numbers for the Geosciences

G 1-922 Geography (General)
G 1000-9980 Atlases and Maps
GA 1-1776 Mathematical Geography
GB 3-5030 Physical Geography
GE 1-350 Environmental Sciences
GF 1-900 Human Geography
QC 801-809 Geophysics
QC 851-999 Climatology/Meteorology
QE 1-996.5 Geology
TD 1-1066 Environmental Technology

Library of Congress Classification System

Streaming Videos

Library provides streaming access to Kanopy and PBS Videos. Use Prospector to request streaming videos from other academic libraries in Colorado and Wyoming.

Kanopy
Find movies, documentaries and instructional films including Environmental Sciences, e.g. The Tools of Human Geography. For remote access, click on more...
more...less...
From main page, select "Log In To USAFA", then enter your McDermott Library Username and Password for the United States Air Force Academy to access a wide collection of films and documentaries.
PBS Videos
Access most PBS video programs on culture, history, science, nature, and much more. For remote access, click on more...
more...less...
To access PBS, you must "Sign In" with the email and password provided on the Streaming Videos section of the Remote User Access Guide in USAFA Blackboard under the Library Resources tab.
USAFA Blackboard: https://usafa.blackboard.com/

Streaming Interlibrary Loan Video Resources (SILLVR)

SILLVR is an expansion of Prospector to request streaming videos. Perform an Advanced Search to filter streaming videos. After your request has been processed, you will get an email with a streaming database link.

Search SILLVR
For streaming videos in Swank Digital Campus & Alexander Street
FAQs about SILLVR
Streaming Video Resources Update

Free, Open Access Sources for Streaming Video:

BBC Earth Lab
A series YouTube videos featuring the planets, and beyond
Big Ideas in Geoscience
A series of YouTube videos from AGI Education
GeologyHub
YouTube channel features geology related events, notably volcanoes and their current eruptions
Geosciences Is for Everyone
Geoscience educational videos from American Geosciences Institute
GeoScience Videos
Featuring college-level introductory topics in geoscience
GSA Webinar Library
Career develoopment videos by the Geological Survey of America
IRIS Earthquake Science
Presents aimations & videos for an understanding of earthquakes

About Maps

GIS Dictionary
Terms related to GIS operations, cartography & Esri technology
Glossary of Cartographic Terms
Glossary of Mapping and Surveying Terms
How to Read a Geologic Map
Introduction to Geological Mapping
Topographic Map Symbols
What is a Topographic Map?

Conflict and Political Maps

CIA Maps: The World Factbook
Maps of the oceans, countries, regional and world locations
Conflict Maps
Spatio-temporal evolution of armed conflicts by Dr. Yuri Zhukov
CrisisWatch
International Crisis Group offers a tool for tracking conflicts worldwide
Critical Threats Project
Collection of conflict maps & operations. Map Room coming soon!
Global Conflict Tracker
Interactive guide to ongoing conflicts by Council of Foreign Relations
Institute for the Study of War Map Room
View maps of recent conflicts including imagery
MAPA Digital Atlas of Ukraine
For a better understanding of the Ukraine through GIS
Nations Online Project
Access a variety of country and political maps
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
A range of historical maps with links to topical maps
Political Geography Now
Link provides access to free conflict maps from website
Tracking Russia’s Invasion of Ukraine in Maps
A visual guide to the war by the Financial Times
UkrStreamTV
Live mapping of the Russia-Ukraine War
United Nations Thematic Maps
UN peace operations & special political missions deployment

General Maps

AnyPlaceAmerica.com
Topographic maps and photos of water, land & man-made landmarks
Geology.com (US Maps)
Access county, cities, physical, elevation and river maps
Geology.com (World Maps)
Google Earth
Google Maps
National Geologic Map Database
Access a variety of geologic mapping resources for the US
The National Map
Provides topographical information and analysis for the US. For recent data, use the National Map Viewer.
USGS Historical Topographical Map Explorer
Explore a place or location to find various USGS historical maps organized by space, time, and map scale
USGS Maps
WorldCat (OCLC)
Find geological and geographical maps from libraries worldwide including links to internet resources. Limit type to "Maps" and combine terms for location and "geological" or "geographic"

More Map Resources

American Meteorological Society
Recommended weather studies and map resource links
Arctic Spatial Data Infrastructure
Arctic data with an interactive map of the circumpolar region
Bureau of Land Management
Explore BLM land and georeferenced maps
Census Bureau: Geography Program
Interactive mapping tools for legal & statistical boundaries
EarthExplorer (USGS)
EROS Archive (USGS)
Access aerial photography, declassified satellite imagery, and more
Geologic Survey Inventory
Digital geologic map data & reports from the National Park Service
NASA Visible Earth
Search for NASA images and animations of planet earth
NASA Worldview
Explore places on earth over time through satellite imagery
National Geographic MapMaker
Natural Resources Canada
Official Canadian site for maps, tools & publications
United Nations Maps & Geospatial Services
United States MapMaker Kit
Download, print, and assemble maps of the US in a variety of sizes, with map kit resources from National Geographic