Did you know the library offers access to digital magazines and newspapers like The Economist and The WSJ? Each guide below will walk you through the steps on how to set up a personal account.
This guide provides information on a broad range of topics in geosciences and resources to help you do research. Don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions or need help with your research -- just drop by my office, email me, or we can chat online.
If you are having trouble getting started, try reading a few articles from the listed sources. Look for major concepts and words or phrases that are repeated in the article, as well as references cited that can help you spot credible sources for your topic.
Here are some resources to help you choose an interesting geoscience research topic:
Survey scholarship research in the geosciences:
Access to free and open access textbooks in geosciences:
Selected resources for students to learn about geoscience concepts:
These references offer a great way to get an overview of topics in different areas of study in geosciences before conducting more in-depth research. Suggested sources may be included to help with further research.
General Reference:
21st Century Geography: A Reference Handbook
The Handbook of Geoscience
The SAGE Handbook of Geographical Knowlege
Geospatial Science:
Manual of Geospatial Science & Technology
A Primer of GIS: Fundamental Geographic & Cartographic Concepts
SAGE Handbook of Remote Sensing
Human Geography:
Encyclopedia of Human Geography
SAGE Handbook of Historical Geography
Physical Geography:
Physical Geography: The Basics
SAGE Handbook of Geomorphology
More Specialized References:
