USAFA Library Guides: Legal Studies: Articles and Databases

Core Legal Databases

The databases listed below provide comprehensive access to primary government resources, law reviews, and other types of information on diverse topics in legal studies, domestic and international.

HeinOnline: Great starting point for legal research and policy studies. In addition to scholarly journals, there is coverage of US government publications, including case laws and international resources.

Help getting started with HeinOnline:

Using Advanced Search: Boolean & other search features
HeinOnline Tools: Searchable record fields
Research Topics: On law and other subjects
Video Tutorials: How to do research and more

Criminology Collection (ProQuest)
Covers a wide range of research on crime, causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and trends
Nexis Uni
Broad collection of law journals and coverage of legal issues
ProQuest Congressional
The most comprehensive web-based collection of historic and current congressional information. Key features include:
1. Topic Pages: Laws and legal issues
2. Advanced Search: Legislative & executive publications
3. Search Hearings, 1824-present
4. Congress in Context: Summary of legislation by Congress
ProQuest Congressional: Legislative Process Guide
Explains how a bill becomes a law & legal background information

Human Rights and Diversity

Border and Migration Studies Online
Presents background information of disputed border areas around the world with videos and primary documents
Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale OneFile)
Global coverage of issues that influence women’s lives: civil rights, education, gender & women's studies, and more
Human Rights Studies Online
Examines major human rights violations and crimes against humanity with videos and primary sources

Other Databases for Legal Research

Environment Complete (Ebsco)
Subjects include environmental law, policy, and technology
JSTOR
Find scholarly journal articles (and books) on law and legal issues
International Security & Counter Terrorism Reference Center
Analysis of security developments and counter-terrorism across a spectrum of disciplines including areas of law & public policy
Military & Government Collection
Search for articles on all branches of the military & government
Praeger Security International
Presents a range of resources on conflict, security & policy issues
Web of Science
Search for citations in many subject categories such as law
more...less...
Web of Science Core Collections include:
Social Sciences Citation Index, 1981-present
Arts & Humanities Citation Index, 2001-present
Science Citation Index Expanded, 1969-present

Journal Publication Finder

Find if the library has full-text access to a specific journal:

BrowZine Library
Search or browse for access to electronic journals from McDermott Library related to Law & Legal Studies
Digital Commons Network: Law Commons
Access free, full text scholarly articles from colleges worldwide in various sub-disciplines of law
HeinOnline Law Journal Library
How to Read a Scholarly Article & Scientific Paper
Created by Purdue OWL
Nexis Uni: Law Reviews & Journals

Harvard Law Review

Harvard Law Review: Respected journal of legal scholarship designed to be a research tool for students of the law, domestic and international. Archival access in JSTOR since 1887.

Find articles on legal topics and different areas of law, including international law, national security, and technology:

Explore by Topic: Loads of topics listed alphabetically
HLR Forum: Responses, essays, commentaries & book reviews
HLR Blog: Timely, fast-paced legal enquiry and argument

Military & National Security Law Journals

The Air Force Law Review
Open access journal articles from the AFJAG Corps
The Army Lawyer
Harvard Law School National Security Journal
Harvard Law School open access, 2010-present
International Law Studies
Open access articles from the US Naval War College
The JAG Reporter
By The Judge Advocate General’s School, US Air Force
Journal of National Security Law & Policy
Peer-reviewed journal devoted to national security law & policy
Military Law Review
Ebsco, 2010-present
Naval Law Review
Open access law reviews published by Naval Justice School
Scholarly Articles & Writings
Written by members of the Air Force JAG Corps
US Naval War College
Browse for articles by sub-disciplines of law