Legal Studies

HeinOnline: Library offers access to several HeinOnline databases for legal research of international law with scholarly journals, treaties & international agreements.

International law content includes:

• Air & Space Law:  Recent addition to access
• History of International Law:  Searchable record fields
• Research Topics: Human rights, world affairs, and more
• U.S. Treaties & Agreements Library
• World Constitutions Illustrated: Select by country

See also Articles and Databases page for database coverage of both domestic and international laws.

Access government resources, law reviews, and other types of information on diverse topics in international law and foreign legal studies.

World Legal Information Institute:  WorldLII provides access to official and law publications to international and foreign legal information.

WorldLII search features:

• Country Collections: Listing of legal resources by country
• LawCite:  Find cases, law documents & journal articles 
• Quick Guide: User guide to search WorldLII database

United Nations:  The UN is the world's leading international organization for peace and security with work on international law, human rights, humanitarian aid, global issues, sustainable development & climate action., 

Access international laws and other resources:

• A-Z Index:  Alphabetical listing of UN resources
• International Law, Courts & Tribunals:  UN affairs
• Official Documentation Center: Access to UN documents
• UN Audiovisual Library:  Training series & visual archive
• UNBIS Thesaurus:  Vocabulary of concepts
• UNTERM:  Database of official terminology in six languages

Click here for an alphabetical listing of international organizations.  Below are other major international organizations engaged in legal issues:

International Committee of the Red Cross:  Offers protection and aid for victims of armed conflict & violence, and backs the rules for international humanitarian law.

Featured resources of the ICRC include:

• Key Operations: Where the ICRC provides assistance
• How Does Law Protect in War?;  Online reference casebook
• Protected Persons: e.g. children, civilians, women, POWs
• War and Law: Rules of international humanitarian law

American Society of International Law:  ASIL is a leading scholarly society that offers access to a wide range of resources in the field of international law.

Special features & educational resources:

• Insights:  On recent developments in international law
• Topics:  Spotlight on signature & international law issues
• American Journal of International Law + Full-text Access
• Benchbook on International Law:  Introduction to IL
• International Law: 100 Ways it Shapes Our Society

European Journal of International Law:  A leading journal for international law. Partial access from website to articles & book reviews. Full-text access in Ebsco.

• EJIL Full-text::  Ebsco 1996-present (1 yr. delay)
• EJIL Talk! The Podcasts:  On international issues of law