USAFA Library Guides: Legal Studies: Legal News, Insights & Podcasts

News & Magazine Subscriptions

Follow the steps in each guide to create your account and get free access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and much more.

Digital News

The New York Times: Digital Edition
Full digital access to news and premium content
The Wall Street Journal: Digital Access
Unlimited access to global business, finance, and legal news
WSJ Law News
A WSJ subscription includes a section for law & legal analysis

Digital Magazines

The Economist
Keep up with key legal, political, and economic issues
Foreign Affairs Online
Stay informed on international law and global affairs
Foreign Policy with FP Insider
Stay updated on national, regional and global affairs

AF and DoD Library Digital Collections

DoD MWR Libraries
Log in with your DoD ID and DOB to access library resources, including books, audiobooks, newspapers, videos, and databases like OverDrive Libby, PressReader, Freegal, Hoopla, Ancestry, and more
more...less...
From Website:
Click 'Login' at the top right. Enter your DOD ID (CAC) number and birthdate. If the information is not found, you may be asked for the last four digits of your SSN. Your data will not be retained after authentication.
Libby App by OverDrive
Download app to access OverDrive's books, audiobooks, and magazines after registering through DoD MWR Libraries
PressReader
An Air Force Libraries resource providing access to hundreds of newspapers and magazines in multiple languages globally
more...less...
Log in to the DoD MWR Libraries site with your DoD ID. From the dropdown menu, select "Find a Resource" and click on "Newspapers and Magazines" to access PressReader. After registering through the site, you can use the PressReader app.

Research Databases and Archives

Access current news to explore legal trends, landmark cases, and the social and political factors shaping legal developments.

News and Newspapers (ProQuest)
Current full-text access to major U.S. and global newspapers, including The New York Times and The Washington Post
Nexis Uni
Access thousands of global, national, and local news sources, legal briefs, company data, and market insights

Historical Newspapers

Full-text archives of historical news sources for researching legal issues, major events, and societal changes.

Fact-Checking and Resources

ABA Legal Fact Check
Fact-checks legal claims to separate facts from fiction
ABYZ News Links
Directory of global news websites
FactCheck.org
Nonpartisan site that verifies political and legal claims
Glossary of News Literacy
Guide to evaluating news sources and media literacy
PolitiFact - Legal Issues
Fact-checks legal claims in political discussions

Legal News Sources and Insights

Above the Law
Insights on legal issues, AI, law school, and careers
Jurist News
Delivers global news and legal insights for students
Justia BlawgSearch
Explore popular blogs covering diverse areas of law
Lawfire Blog
Insights on military law from a former USAF Deputy JAG
The Law Professor Blogs Network
Network of legal blogs led primarily by law professors
ProPublica
Investigative legal journalism on ustice, gender, military & tech

Podcasts: Your Guide to Legal Insights

Podcasts are a great way to stay informed on key legal topics. This guide features podcasts on constitutional law, emerging tech, social justice, and more. Explore to deepen your understanding of the law.

Constitutional Law & Supreme Court Analysis

Amicus by Slate
Covers Supreme Court cases, constitutional issues, and legal trends
We the People: National Constitution Center
Explores constitutional issues & landmark Supreme Court cases

Criminal Law, Justice & Policy

Legal Talk Network
A collection of podcasts on law and legal matters
Pro Say by Law360
A review of the biggest stories from the world of law
Stanford Legal Podcast
Discusses current and diverse issues from leading legal experts

Emerging Technologies & Law

Cyberlaw Podcast by Lawfare
Offers nonpartisan perspectives on cyber law for students
Ethics in AI by Oxford University
Offers insights for students in legal studies, tech law, and AI ethics
Planetary Radio: Space Policy Edition
Covers space policy, law, and governance

International & Global Law

International Law Behind the Headlines
Podcasts by the American Society of International Law
The Law Show on BBC Radio 4
Analyzes legal stories impacting the UK and beyond
The Lawfare Podcast
Covers legal topics like international law, terrorism, and more

Law School & Career Advice

ABA Law Student Podcast
Covers law school topics and issues for students
How I Lawyer Podcast
Delivers insights into the legal profession from practitioners
Law School Toolbox Podcast
Offers guidance on various aspects of law school life
Resilient Lawyer
Offers insights for a more fulfilling career and life in law

Legal News & Insights

ABA Journal: Modern Law Library
Explores legal theories and historical events
Above the Law: Thinking Like a Lawyer
Examines popular topics through a legal framework
Bloomberg Law
Covers major legal issues and high-profile cases in the news

Military & National Security Law

AFJAGS Podcast
A series from the Air Force Judge Advocate General's School
Lawfire Podcast
Provides access to legal issues on war, cyber & national security
The National Security Law Podcast
Reviews major legal, policy, and security issues
Operational Maritime Law
A new series for those interested in maritime law
The Quill & Sword Podcasts
Covers military justice, CAAF rulings, and related issues