USAFA Library Guides: Legal Studies: Law and Technology

Databases

Below is a list of databases to find diverse topics on new and emerging technologies. See Articles & Databases page for legal databases.

ACM Digital Library
Find scholarly journal articles on computing innovation & emerging technologies from the Association for Computing Machinery
Applied Science & Technology Source Ultimate
Access to journal articles on subjects in AI, computers, information and new technologies from US and global sources
Aviation Week Technology Network
Find current and past issues of leading aviation publications
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
Browse conference proceedings in computer science.

Resources & Help: Browsing, searching and training
Top Searches & Popular Content: AI & image processing

Technology Collection (ProQuest)
Covers new developments in high technologies including AI & cyber
Web of Science
Search fields to find journal articles, conference proceedings, data and other resources in the sciences and social sciences

Topic Discovery

An Anthology of National Security Law
A series of essays on topics of national security law by the ABA
BBC News: Tech
Read the latest tech news and articles on related topics
Berkman Klein Center for Internet & Society
Find topics on AI, tech and the law from Harvard University
DoD Spotlight on Science & Technology
Special features by the DoD on technologies including AI
Just Security
Key security topics on cybersecurity, disinformation, and laws
Lawfare
Select topics on cybersecurity and other areas of national security
Lieber Institute for Law & Warfare
Find topics on cyber and emerging technologies

Podcasts

The Cyberlaw Podcast
Recent events about technology, security, privacy & government
The Digital Edge
Discussion of topics at the intersection of law and technology
Humanitarian Law & Policy Blog
ICRC blog with audio on new technologies and developments
TechLaw10 Information Technology Podcast
Weekly 10-minute podcasts on aspects of law & new technologies

Digital Subscriptions

Sign up for a free personal account to The Economist, The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal for access to special features and articles on new technologies, science and innovation:

The Economist

Science & Technology | Technology Quarterly

The New York Times

The Wall Street Journal

The Future of Everything: A Look Ahead
Tech Section: Articles & videos on AI, cyber and more

Cyber Law & Cybersecurity Journals

Computer Law & Security Review
ScienceDirect, 1995-present
Frontiers: Science Journal Publications
Articles on new computer technologies: e.g. AI, Big Data, Blockchain
International Journal of Law & Information Technology
Applied Science & Tech Source, 1996-present (1 year delay)
Journal of Cyber Policy
Taylor & Francis, 2016-present
Journal of Law & Cyber Warfare
JSTOR 2012-present (2-year delay)

Law & Technology Journals

Illinois Journal of Law, Technology & Policy
Focus on laws affecting technological development & innovation
Journal of Business & Technology Law
Ebsco Business Source, 2008-present
Journal of National Security Law & Policy
Covers topics on technology & cybersecurity
MIT Sloan: Management Review
Presents diverse topics on AI, data and technology governance
UCLA Journal of Law and Technology
Articles on AI, IP, privacy law, antitrust, trade secrets, and more

Student Law & Technology Journals

Berkeley Technology Law Journal
Duke Law: LENS Essay Series
A series of essays on law, ethics & national security
Harvard Journal of Law and Technology
Also short reports on recent tech developments in JOLT Digest
Stanford Technology Law Review
Yale Journal of Law & Technology

Other notable student law journals: North Carolina Journal of Law & Tech | Vanderbilt Journal of Entertainment & Technology Law

Online References

The Cambridge Handbook of Responsible Artificial Intelligence: Interdisciplinary Perspectives
Presents issues and applications for governance, healthcare, armed conflict, and more.
Cybersecurity Law, Standards and Regulations, 2nd Edition
A cybersecurity law guide covering current and future cyber standards, regulations and laws.

Air Force Cyber Law Primer
Cyber Security: Issues & Current Trends
Insights of cybersecurity issues ncluding the importance of cyberlaw
Cyber Security: Law and Guidance
Overview of cyber laws & security in the UK and Europe
Handbook on the Politics and Governance of Big Data and Artificial Intelligence
The Law of Air, Space and Cyber Operations
Topics on law of armed forces by the JAG Corps
SAGE Encyclopedia of Surveillance, Security & Privacy
Explains how surveillance impacts our security and privacy

Recommended Book Titles

Artificial Intelligence & International Economic Law
Constitutional Challenges in the Algorithmic Society
Drones and the Law
International Responses to Rapid Drone Proliferation
Emerging Military Technologies: A Guide to the Issues
Emerging Military Technologies: Ethical & Legal Perspectives
Ethics in the AI, Technology, and Information Age
Future Law: Emerging Technology, Regulation & Ethics
The Future Law of Armed Conflict
Covers technological changes and a reading of existing laws
Striking Power
How Cyber, Robots & Space Weapons Change the Rules for War
Tech Wars: Transforming U.S. Technology Development
War at the Speed of Light
Directed-Energy Weapons & the Future of 21st Century Warfare
Weapons and the Law of Armed Conflict

Research Institutes

Bipartisan Policy Center: Technology
Find explainers, reports and policies relating to technology
Cooperative Cyber Defence Centre of Excellence
NATO focus areas of technology, strategy, operations & law
CSIS: Strategic Technologies Program
Featured topics include cybersecurity & emerging technologies
Hoover Institution: Science & Technology
Innovation, telecommunications & the Internet, intellectual property
LACMO Network
Academic research on law of armed conflict, military & cybersecurity
Stanford: Human-Centered Artificial Intelligence
AI as a major research focus area
USAFA Law, Technology & Research Cell

More Resources

The A-Z of Military Terms
Military terms explained to you in plain English by The Economist
A Brief Primer on International Law & Cyberspace
Article by Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
Glossary of Digital Security Terms
Handbook on Non-discriminating Algorithms
Produced by the Tilburg Institute for Law, Technology & Society
International Cyber Law in Review
Interactive toolkit
NASA Space Tech
Insights on new technologies used by NASA in space
The Next Wave
A journal by the National Security Agency on emerging technologies
Typology of Online Harms
Toolkit for digital safety design interventions & innovations:
Ultimate Guide to Global Cyberlaws
Overview of cyberlaw issues and laws from various countries